(Google Street View)
Idaho drivers must be pretty good…and fast.
Police only ticketed two motorists last month under the state’s new left lane law, which fines drivers up to $90 for going to slowly in the passing lane.
Along with the pair of citations, state police gave warnings to just three other drivers since the law went into effect on July 1, according to the Idaho Press.
A majority of states have some form of a “slowpoke” law that reserves the left lane for passing, but only a few assign specific fines for the offense, with New Jersey and Indiana the highest at a maximum of $500.
In June, an Indiana State Trooper was hailed as a “hero” after he tweeted about pulling over a slow-moving car in the left lane that was holding up 20 vehicles behind it.
“If vehicles are moving slower, it can cause accidents and crashes,” Idaho State Police L.t Shawn Staley said.
The Idaho law doesn’t give a firm time limit for how long a slow driver has to move out of the left lane, leaving it up to an officer’s discretion, and Staley says that drivers who are moving at the speed limit will not be fined.
However, the law also allows for cars to exceed the posted speed limit 15 mph on two-lane roads when they pull out to pass someone who is driving below it.
The Associated Press contributed to this report
Gary Gastelu is FoxNews.com's Automotive Editor.